The 14th International Zebrafish Conference

The 14th International Zebrafish Conference

Suzhou, China,  June 12-16, 2019

Suzhou, China,  June 12-16, 2019

Keynote Speakers

Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard

Max Planck Institute of Developmental Biology

Study of biology, physics and chemistry in Frankfurt/Main, degree in biochemistry Tübingen (1969), doctorate Tübingen Univ. (1973), postdoc in Basel and Freiburg, group leader EMBL (1978-1981), head of a junior research group at the Friedrich Miescher Laboratory of the Max Planck Society in Tübingen (1981-1984), Director and Scientific Member at the Max Planck Institute of Developmental Biology (since 1985). She is leading a research group focusing on the development of colour patterns in fishes. For the discovery of genes that control development in animals and humans, and the demonstration of morphogen gradients in the fly embryo Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard has received a number of awards and honors, among others the Albert Lasker Medical Research Award, New York (USA), the Prix Louis Jeantet de Médecine, Geneva (Switzerland), the Ernst Schering Prize, Berlin (Germany), and the Nobel Prize for Medicine or Physiology in 1995. She is recipient of honorary degrees of the Universities Yale, Harvard, Princeton, and Rockefeller (USA), Utrecht (the Netherlands), UC London, Oxford and Sheffield (UK), Freiburg and Munich (Germany). Memberships: foreign member of the Royal Society, London (UK), and the National Academy, Washington (USA); member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO), the Leopoldina, Halle, the Berlin/Brandenburg Academy, the Order Pour Le Mérite, Berlin, and the Académie des Sciences, Paris. She was secretary general of the EMBO until 2009 and president of the Gesellschaft deutscher Naturforscher und Ärzte until 2008. She has been a member of the Senate of the Max Planck Society, the National Ethics Council of Germany and several advisory boards and committees. Since 2005, she has been a member of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council (ERC). In 2010, she was elected to be vice chancellor of the Order Pour Le Mérite. In 2004, Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard founded the CNV-Foundation to support women in Science with children.

Qi Zhou

Institute of Zoology (IOZ), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)

Qi Zhou, Ph.D., is a professor and the director of the Institute of Zoology (IOZ), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), director of the Institute for Stem Cell and Regeneration, CAS, CAS Member, TWAS (The World Academy of Sciences) Fellow. Prof. Zhou's research interests cover stem cell, reproductive, and developmental biology, and he is also dedicated to promoting the application of stem cells to clinical use. He has been serving as the chief scientist of several national and CAS research projects in areas of reproductive and developmental biology, and stem cells. Prof. Zhou has been awarded many prizes and honors, including the TWAS Prize for Biology, the Second Class Award of National Natural Science Award of China, and the Prize for Scientific and Technological Progress of Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation.

Mu-ming Poo

 Institute of Neuroscience, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Mu-ming Poo is the founding and current director of Institute of Neuroscience, Chinese Academy of Sciences, director of CAS Center for Excellence in Brain Science and Intelligence Technology, and Paul Licht Distinguished Professor in Biology Emeritus at University of California, Berkeley. He studied physics at Tsinghua University (Taiwan) and received Ph D in biophysics from Johns Hopkins University. He had served on the faculty of University of California at Irvine, Yale University, Columbia University, and University of California at San Diego, and University of California, Berkeley. His main research interest is to understand the cellular mechanisms regulating the formation and plasticity of neural circuits. He is a member of Academia Sinica, US National Academy of Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Academy of Science of Hong Kong. He had received Docteur Honoris Causa from Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris and from Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Ameritec Prize (2001), P. R. China International Science & Technology Cooperation Award (2005), Qiushi Distinguished Scientist Award (2011), and Gruber Neuroscience Prize (2016). He is currently on the editorial board of more than ten scientific journals, and serves as the Executive Editor-in-Chief for National Science Review.